Addicted, are you?

Before i start scrutinizing over this topic, let me admit , i am a big time addict of facebook. My day starts and ends with scrolling the recent updates on my cell-phone. Infact, it has become the best alarm for me. It always forces me to open my eyes to look at those silly, however sometimes interesting statuses and updates. Surprisingly, as i write this, i still have the fb page open in background, enough proof of my addiction!

I sometimes wonder if my life would have been different without it? Ofcourse, people did live before fb came into existence. The only difference was that the photos clicked, made way to the walls of their home instead as their profile picture. There were undoubtedly many more friends calling up to wish rather than “happy birthday..god bless!!”postings on the wall. Also, there would have been more meaningful conversations than the usual templates “hi..how r u dear” with “dear” being used universally for everyone. I could suggest facebook a good business-strategy: launching fb templates…for opening chats, closing chats, happy birthday wishes, good night templates:- to improve user-friendliness.

I have personally experienced the anxiety one faces during the first few hours(can also extend to days) of uploading a cute pic or a jazzy status. Will one more like or comment hardly matter? Will it make any difference if you did not acknowledge each like and comment with a “thanx@x, thanx@y”. I am sure no one is bothered about your relationship statuses except your crushes. Moreover, the long chats would never have been possible without- hmm and 🙂 which saved us when we had nothing else to reply back.

If facebook had occupied our lives a tad bit early, the easiest essay topic during school would have been: facebook-a boon or a bane. i already feel like i just wrote one!!

Leave a comment